Dear Life: A Review

Dear Life, Beck, 2017

Members of my inner-circle know that I’ve long been a fan of Beck’s work. The lyrics of his new single appropriately include the query “How long must I wait…” Seriously, I feel like I’ve been waiting my whole life for some new Beck. Well, for at least 10 months.*

“Dear Life” begins with ragtime-y syncopated piano, and ends with Beach Boys-esque harmonies, so it’s a pretty typical Beck song. I like it.

According to Beck, “You sang your swan song to the dogs…” I’ve learned through the classic sing-a-long “Old MacDonald Had a Farm” that swans make a honking sound. When I see doggies I make more of a closed-mouth grunting noise, because I’m excited. I can only assume swans are also excited about doggies, but do swans grunt or honk at them? This song creates more questions than it answers.

*editors’ note: at the time of publication, the reviewer was not yet 11-months-old.

4doggies

4 out of 5 doggies

Leave a comment